Nicholas has second thoughts!

by Nick

I do still love Italy – no second thoughts about that!  Since Dad teaches all day Tuesday, he doesn’t have much to say.  So I am giving my second thoughts on this blog! 

I thought this past week was a pretty good week.  We went to see Michelangelo’s David!  I didn’t realize he was going to be that tall.  He is about seventeen feet tall.  That’s huge!  I really wanted to take a picture with my new camera, but you weren’t allowed.  (Dad used a picture from the web in his previous post if you didn’t notice!)  Still, there were people taking pictures with their phones.  I wanted to take a picture, but there were security cameras everywhere.  I didn’t want to take a chance getting arrested.  That’s one of Dad’s rules here in Italy – don’t get arrested!

After seeing David, I went to get a Kinder Gelato.  Now, you are probably wondering: “what the heck is Kinder?”  Kinder is the best chocolate bar in the whole world. (Or at least in Italy and the U.S. where I’ve been!)  See picture below.  It is basically a chocolate bar that has a lot of milk in it.  Or maybe you are wondering – what is gelato?  Well, gelato is the best ice cream I have ever had!  I saw in a gelato store that they had Kinder flavor, and that was like doubly perfect!  So I just had to have some.  And yes, it was the best ever.  I’ll be back!

It has taken me a while to adjust to how late we eat dinner here in Italy.  We eat breakfast around 8am which is fairly normal.  Lunch is sometime between 1:00 and 3:00 which is a little late.  And most stores close during lunch time!  We usually eat dinner then sometime between 7:00 and 10:00.  Now that’s late!  Most restaurants don’t even open until after 7:30pm!  Since we eat later, we end up going to bed later.  It does mess up my sleep sometimes.

On Saturday, I played in a soccer game with my new team.  Honestly, I thought I played great.  I didn’t make many mistakes.  I just did my job and kept the offensive player from shooting.  Our team was winning for most of the game, but in the last four minutes, the other team scored.  The final score was 1-1.  I was satisfied with a tie, but my teammates thought it was the end of the world.  Although they had forgotten about it by the time we made it to the snack bar after the game!  Overall, I had fun!

On Sunday, Fiorentina played Rome in a soccer match.  Unfortunately, we didn’t get the game on our TV in our apartment.  We flipped through the channels, but all we found was a station that showed the score.  There was an announcer next to the score, but he was talking in Italian.  So we only knew somethng exciting was happening when he talked louder and faster.  Sadly, Rome won 1-0.

Sunday night (or really Monday morning) my wonderful and awesomest Mom and Dad let me and Thomas watch the Super Bowl at an American bar.  I wanted the Saints to win for two reasons: 1) Since the first game the Saints played this year in the regular season, I said they would win the Super Bowl; and 2) My Dad was so sure the Saints weren’t going to even make it to the Super Bowl that he bet me in the regular season that they wouldn’t win it!  And the Saints won, so I won 20 Euros!  That was the start of a great week!

Here’s my favorite chocolate bar in Italy: 

5 Responses to “Nicholas has second thoughts!”

  1. Grandma Says:

    Great blog, Nicholas!
    Thanks,
    Love, Grandma

  2. Uncle John Says:

    Yes, great blog Nick ~ looks like a beautiful city ~ what a great experience!

  3. Aunt Regina Says:

    I’m sorry happy you are having a great time-you are a lucky guy-I know I will never get to Italy-so enjoy it now-take in all while you can. I do know what gelato is & its is very good.try to e-mail me when you can & keep me updated on everything.How is the rest of the family doing?How’s grandma?
    Love Aunt Regina in very snowy Long Island

  4. Aunt Regina Says:

    I’m sorry happy you are having a great time-you are a lucky guy-I know I will never get to Italy-so enjoy it now-take in all while you can. I do know what gelato is & its is very good.try to e-mail me when you can & keep me updated on everything.How is the rest of the family doing?How’s grandma?
    Love Aunt Regina in very snowy Long Island
    the 1st line is supposed to say I’ so HAPPY – not I’ sorry

  5. tate warlick Says:

    wow I had a kinder bar and it was awesome. my mom thinks the sithteenth chapel and the itful tower are pretty

Leave a Reply

